The Colorado Mycological Society

Contact Us!

Colorado Mycological Society
PO Box 9621
Denver, CO 80206

Say Hello
General Inquiries
hello@cmsweb.org

Poisoning
Call The Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center
303-739-1123

Identification
*We no longer identify photos emailed to us.
You may post photos to our facebook group here. *No response guaranteed.
Members may submit photos to our lead identifiers in our portal here.

Orders
General online order support
support@cmsweb.org

Forays
Foray Questions & Support
forays@cmsweb.org

Memberships
Memberships Support
memberships@cmsweb.org

Events
Event Questions & Support
events@cmsweb.org

Merchandise
merch@cmsweb.org

Tech Support
tech-support@cmsweb.org

Web Editor
web-editor@cmsweb.org

Newsletter
newsletter@cmsweb.org

Submissions
submissions@cmsweb.org

Volunteer
volunteer@cmsweb.org

Featured

  • SporesAfield Newsletter | September 2018

     
    To access this post, you must be a member of The Colorado Mycological Society. Please purchase a Standard Membership or Membership Gift Certificates to view this content.
    Join Us! Member Login
    Colorado Mycological Society
  • Annual Cook and Taste, Monday, September 10

     

    Annual COOK AND TASTE/PHOTO CONTEST PRESENTATION AND AWARDS

    Monday, September 10 / Gates Hall

    7:00 pm – Monthly meeting.

    Please have your wonderful dishes at Gates Hall as close to p.m. as possible, it not slightly before.

    Dining will begin promptly at 7:15pm

    Presented by: CMS Members

    Members are encouraged to bring a mushroom dish to share with other members. Only the following mushroom species may be used:

    Boletus barrowsii, Boletus edulis, Cantharellus cibarius, Commercial mushrooms from a grocery, Coprinus comatus, Dentinum repandum, Flammulina velutipes, Hydnum imbricatum, Lactarius deliciosus, Marasmius oreades, Matsutake – Tricholoma magnivelare or Tricholoma caligatum, Morchella angusticeps

    Pleurotus ostreatus

    All the dishes brought to the Cook & Taste must follow these rules:

       All mushrooms must be well cooked. Raw

    mushrooms will not be allowed in any dish.

       Use only one species of mushroom in each dish.

       A written recipe prominently showing the

    species of mushroom in the dish and the cook’s name MUST accompany each dish.

       Leccinum species are not allowed.

    If you have a supply of a good, common edible species of mushroom, but it isn’t on the list above, call Marilyn Shaw at 303-377-1278. All exceptions must be approved in advance of the Cook & Taste.

    Those who have no time to cook or cannot cook may bring drinks, desserts, salads, or bread (prepared food from the grocery is fine.)

    Please join us!

    Please note that parking will be difficult do to another event at the Denver Botanic Gardens

    Cook and Taste flier 2018

    Colorado Mycological Society
  • Aleuria aurantia - Photo by Jon Sommer

    Happy Hunting Tip | August 2018

    Happy Hunting Tip By Karen Ryan It’s time to gather your hunting/guides and id keys. Unlike plants, mushrooms and other fungi don’t produce their food from sunlight. Instead, they feed off the nutrients in other organisms. Fungi release enzymes that break down material, then they consume the nutrition. Many species grow mutually beneficial relationships with certain kinds of trees. For […]
    To access this post, you must be a member of The Colorado Mycological Society. Please purchase a Standard Membership or Membership Gift Certificates to view this content.
    Join Us! Member Login
    Colorado Mycological Society
X