The Colorado Mycological Society

Contact Us!

Colorado Mycological Society
PO Box 9621
Denver, CO 80209

Say Hello
General Inquiries
hello@cmsweb.org

Poisoning
Call The Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center
303-739-1123

Identification
*We no longer identify photos emailed to us.
You may post photos to our facebook group here. *No response guaranteed.
Members may submit photos to our lead identifiers in our portal here.

Orders
General online order support
support@cmsweb.org

Forays
Foray Questions & Support
forays@cmsweb.org

Memberships
Memberships Support
memberships@cmsweb.org

Events
Event Questions & Support
events@cmsweb.org

Merchandise
merch@cmsweb.org

Tech Support
tech-support@cmsweb.org

Web Editor
web-editor@cmsweb.org

Newsletter
newsletter@cmsweb.org

Submissions
submissions@cmsweb.org

Volunteer
volunteer@cmsweb.org

Cook your enoki!

Cook your enoki!
June 11, 2020 Andrew Wilson
In Articles, Health, News, Poisonous, Toxins

The enoki, or Flammulina velutipes, is an “exotic” edible mushroom that you can acquire at most regional specialty food stores. They’re pretty interesting because the kinds used for consumption are morphologically different from the wild version (image below) due to being grown in a high CO2 environment.

However, there is current concern that enoki sourced from abroad are not packaged using the same health and safety criteria that we have here in the US. This is believed to be the reason for Listeria contamination experienced recently in North America (US and Canada).

Infection, contamination, and/or poisoning from the pathogenic bacterium Listeria monocytogenes is largely the result of eating contaminated foods. These foods are mostly raw foods that include dairy, fish, and vegetables. To avoid infection from Listera contaminated food, it is recommended that you wash and cook your food at temperatures of at least 165°F.

So cooking your enoki is recommended, as it is for all other edible mushrooms. Cooking enhances the flavor of many mushrooms specifically by removing much of the moisture content, which concentrates the flavors and caramelizes the sugars.

Enoki Mushroom Listeria Outbreak Ends With 36 Sick, 4 Dead

 

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
X