The Colorado Mycological Society

Contact Us!

Colorado Mycological Society
PO Box 9621
Denver, CO 80206

Say Hello
General Inquiries
hello@cmsweb.org

Poisoning
Call The Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center
303-739-1123

Identification
*We no longer identify photos emailed to us.
You may post photos to our facebook group here. *No response guaranteed.
Members may submit photos to our lead identifiers in our portal here.

Orders
General online order support
support@cmsweb.org

Forays
Foray Questions & Support
forays@cmsweb.org

Memberships
Memberships Support
memberships@cmsweb.org

Events
Event Questions & Support
events@cmsweb.org

Merchandise
merch@cmsweb.org

Tech Support
tech-support@cmsweb.org

Web Editor
web-editor@cmsweb.org

Newsletter
newsletter@cmsweb.org

Submissions
submissions@cmsweb.org

Volunteer
volunteer@cmsweb.org

Mushroom Poisoning

Mushroom Poisoning

What Do I Do?

In the event of a suspected mushroom poisoning incident contact one of the following:

  • Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center

 303-739-1123

  • Universal Poison Center

 1-800-222-1222

**Your call will be routed to the appropriate Poison Center for the area code from which your call is made.

Other actions to take:

  • Save all available sample mushrooms. Do not wash or trim. Place in waxed paper or a brown paper bag and refrigerate. Intentional or accidental mixed ingestions often occur so all specimens are needed.
  • If possible, take a digital photograph of the type of mushroom consumed that can be emailed to the mushroom consultant.
  • Save all leftovers of the food dish that was consumed by the victim to assist in identifying the offending mushroom.
  • After contacting the Poison Center, you will be advised whether or not to take the victim to the nearest medical facility. If so advised, take along a sample of the mushroom consumed or a sample of the food dish consumed.
X