The Colorado Mycological Society

Contact Us!

Colorado Mycological Society
PO Box 9621
Denver, CO 80209

Say Hello
General Inquiries
hello@cmsweb.org

Poisoning
Call The Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center
303-739-1123

Identification
*We no longer identify photos emailed to us.
You may post photos to our facebook group here. *No response guaranteed.
Members may submit photos to our lead identifiers in our portal here.

Orders
General online order support
support@cmsweb.org

Forays
Foray Questions & Support
forays@cmsweb.org

Memberships
Memberships Support
memberships@cmsweb.org

Events
Event Questions & Support
events@cmsweb.org

Merchandise
merch@cmsweb.org

Tech Support
tech-support@cmsweb.org

Web Editor
web-editor@cmsweb.org

Newsletter
newsletter@cmsweb.org

Submissions
submissions@cmsweb.org

Volunteer
volunteer@cmsweb.org

Fancy fungus fetches $160,406

Fancy fungus fetches $160,406
April 3, 2007 Society Lead
In Funnies, News

From Rocky Mountain News, 11-15-06, by-line
Associated Press.

HONG KONG — A Hong Kong property tycoon and his wife reportedly paid $160,406 for a huge Italian white truffle, which may be the worldʼs most expensive ever. Gordon Wu and his wife outbid connoisseurs from France and Italy to win the 3.3-pound Alba white truffle, according to Ritz-Carlton, which hosted the Hong Kong part of the international auction. It was the second time Hong Kong bidders won a pricey fungus at the annual auction. Last year, bidders in Hong Kong paid $121,732 for a 2.7 pound truffle, later named by Guinness World Records as the most valuable truffle bought at an auction, a Ritz-Carlton spokeswoman said. White truffles, which have a strong, garlic-like scent, grow underground with tree roots. Theyʼre eaten uncooked or shaved into pasta, salad, omelets and other dishes.

Hotel chef Umberto Bombana will prepare the giant truffle for a banquet hosted by Wu on Thursday. Proceeds from the auction will go to a Hong Kong charity.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
X