The Colorado Mycological Society

Contact Us!

Colorado Mycological Society
PO Box 9621
Denver, CO 80206

Say Hello
General Inquiries
hello@cmsweb.org

Poisoning
Call The Rocky Mountain Poison and Drug Center
303-739-1123

Identification
*We no longer identify photos emailed to us.
You may post photos to our facebook group here. *No response guaranteed.
Members may submit photos to our lead identifiers in our portal here.

Orders
General online order support
support@cmsweb.org

Forays
Foray Questions & Support
forays@cmsweb.org

Memberships
Memberships Support
memberships@cmsweb.org

Events
Event Questions & Support
events@cmsweb.org

Merchandise
merch@cmsweb.org

Tech Support
tech-support@cmsweb.org

Web Editor
web-editor@cmsweb.org

Newsletter
newsletter@cmsweb.org

Submissions
submissions@cmsweb.org

Volunteer
volunteer@cmsweb.org

What to Expect on Forays

By in Foray Advice

What To Expect

A wild mushroom “field trip, hunt, foray, walk, tour” or whatever one calls it, is not:

A guarantee, by the leader or host, that mushrooms will be found!

It is also not:

An effort to gather an abundance of any species, beyond one’s personal needs.
It should be:

Considered a visit to an environment which is expected to produce mushrooms in the proper season, which provides an opportunity to observe them in their natural habitat, and to learn to identify them by actual “hands-on” methods, with help form other members of the group, and references to appropriate keys and books.

It should also be:

An enjoyable social event and a time of good fellowship with people who share a common interest in a specific feature of the outdoors.

(Thanks to Ralph Hayford, Olympia, Wash., for passing this on. Mushroom the Journal)

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

X